The Revolution Has Begun!!!

Well, not really. Actually, not at all, and when (and more importantly IF) it does, it won’t really be a revolution but an experiment.

I actually began verbalizing and discussing this week something I’ve been thinking about for a long time: running for Congress after I retire. Will it happen? Who knows; I have a few years left in the military and have no idea what shape I’ll be in (physically and fiscally) when I retire, but the spouse and I think it would definitely be an interesting experiment.

Because that’s the more accurate word for the idea I’m having: an experiment that would take up a chunk of savings and probably six months of my life. You see, if I do this, I’d want to do it the old-fashioned way, to see if it’s even still viable. I’m not going to have a bus, or a staff, or have signs by the side of the road everywhere (I HATE those things!). Instead, I would move to where I want to run – probably Colorado, because we love it there and it’s already at the top of our retirement list anyway – get a map of the congressional district I want to run for, and start walking and talking. That’s it. Hanging out in diners and coffee shops talking with people, going door-to-door in neighborhoods, setting up with a single sign in mall and grocery store parking lots and parks, and just telling people what I think Congress should be doing and not doing, and seeing whether they agree. No tv or newspaper ads either – I would have a blog, and probably a Twitter account (which honestly I shudder to think about) – and if people who Facebook and blog started actually agreeing with me, and as organized news media heard of some wacko out there campaigning for Congress who isn’t accepting donations and doesn’t have a PAC, I think my name would start getting out there on its own. I especially believe in leadership by example, and I think being able to run a campaign on a minimum of dollars sets a good example on how I would deal with the budget and deficit: you don’t really need all the frills if you’re willing to get out there and actually do the work.

The other aspect of the experiment? No negative campaigning. One of my biggest beefs with elections are that people spend all their time attacking others because they don’t actually have anything to say about themselves. I don’t have that problem. I know where I stand on most issues, and if I don’t know the answer to something, I’m not afraid to say “I can’t answer that now because I don’t know all the details, but if you give me a way to contact you I’ll find out and let you know.” Now I’ll add a disclaimer that if someone starts taking personal shots at my family I won’t haul off and verbally smack them up side the head, but I’m there to speak about what I believe and how I think things should happen in government, and I don’t plan to ASK for anyone’s vote: if someone agrees with me (more than they agree with the other candidates), I expect they’ll vote for me. If they disagree, I’m not offended.

As I said, if I can pull this off, it will be a very interesting experiment. I honestly don’t expect to win, but who knows what could happen? Perhaps others will try the same method, after (with the benefit of hindsight) fixing what I screwed up on. Or maybe I’ll keep a daily journal and publish a book about it.

Either way, I’d like to be able to try this. I’ve felt for a while now I need to do something more than sitting around and bitching about what I don’t like about the government, and writing my Congressman and the newspaper doesn’t cut it anymore.

About stoshk

Career military member, and for many years a registered Independent. I'm not a particularly type-A personality, and believe people can disagree on a topic while still being respectful of each other's opinion - everything doesn't have to be a "you're either with me or against me" philosophy. I DON'T believe everything is black or white, I DO believe most rules have exceptions, and most situations have to be judged on their own merit rather than following a blanket "party line." I DO believe that while elected officials do represent their districts and constituents, they also have an obligation to act for the greater good of the nation as a whole, and leadership should be by example, not a "do as I say, not as I do" philosophy. I started this blog because I've reached a point where I feel many aspects of local, regional, national and global life are just plain disgusting me and I needed someplace to vent, and I've had enough positive feedback about the letters, notes and commentary on various subjects that I've posted to friends through email and/or social media that I thought this might be worth it - at least to me. Any and all comments, writings and postings in the blog are solely my opinion and absolutely do not represent the views of the U.S. Government and/or the Department of Defense.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

